Yes you read that right, I used my Government Issued Food Stamps to purchase the ingredients required to bake bread!  I have always believed that just because we are using Food Stamps does NOT mean we have to eat crud! They work for any and all food items inside of the grocery store and with a little effort those on Food Stamps can eat whatever they want! So I have for awhile now always used them to purchase components for meals slowly weeding out pre-made foods.  Today I used those funds to purchase the items necessary to make Bread!

Groceries

This morning I embarked on my adventure with author ML Gardner to live and eat using the same techniques they did during the Great Depression.  Today’s adventure was baking our own bread – she sent me her recipe for bread and I went about making a shopping list and off to Wal-Mart I went at 6:00 am this morning!

My shopping list included:

– Flour

– Yeast

– Sugar

– Shortening

– Oil

– Instant Nonfat Milk

– Corn Starch

– Baking Powder

– Baking Soda

– Vanilla Extract

– Spaghetti Sauce

– French Bread (recipe coming later)

– Fruit/Veggies

– Eggs

– Roasting Chicken

– Deli Meats

– Gallon of 2% Milk

– Vitamins

– Cat Food

Some of these items were not for the bread, but in the same aspect I did manage to walk out of Wal-Mart having spent $92.00 – of that, $27.00 was our Savings Catcher Funds!

Simple as pie really!  Came home and got to work assembling her bulk pancake mix dry goods and then baking two loaves of bread for the house! Check it out!

So for those living on Food Stamps – don’t think you are limited to just those pre-fabricated foods in the store, use them for ingredients, take the time, cook and prepare your own foods, those monies will go that much further every month!

I am excited to see where we go from here! I’ve laid out our meals through Wednesday of next week and will need to do more shopping and baking on Tuesday when I am off work.

On next, an update on how we live and cook the next few days!

Comments
  1. they look beautiful! I have stopped buying store made breads 1-2 months ago and am making an effort to bake my own. I will never buy those junks again. I am not good at baking, but I believe with experience it will get better. I do not understand why I did not come up with this idea earlier; baking own bread is healthier, cheaper, and much more fun. let’s keep going 🙂

    • ncreadergirl says:

      Thanks! Was a lot easier than I thought. Last time I tried baking bread it was horrid, but I didn’t kill the yeast and it tastes amazing. I have been baking with my Mom for years but had not tried it on my ownuch since moving to NYC.

Leave a Reply

