Ugh…Feeling Like I Want to Run Screaming…How Much Longer?

Posted: September 22, 2015 in Budgets, Financial Organization, Financial Picture, Jobs, Life, Money, Personal Finance
Tags: , , , , , ,

Good Morning Kids!

Another day in the trenches here…seriously getting to the point I want to just bail…

Why?

Simple – my replacement hasn’t officially started yet?!? Meaning she’s in office in Tampa BUT her background hasn’t cleared YET and she’s unable to come to site for her training…um WTF??! So I send my boss an email last Friday getting all the pertinent info together, find out her background is still pending and that they’ll need me to stay until 10/9! Um WTF?!?! I told them I’d need to think about it – told HR this morning I’m ok with staying until 10/9 but at that point my obligation to the company ends.  So now my replacement will be here next week for training and I am expected to plaster on a smile and pretend all is right with the world…which we all know is NOT the case!

Then the icing on the cake – boss lady asks me to request my replacement’s access to all of the systems I use…um talk about a SMACK in the face! Ugh…no class I swear! Sent the following the HR this morning:

Good Morning HR Manager –

Just checking in  – Boss Lady’s asked me to stay until 10/9, which I am ok with, not 100% ok, but ok.

Also, I understand the need to get my replacement up and running as soon as possible, but yesterday Kim was asking me to request her accesses to the XX Systems – frankly I feel like that’s a huge slap in the face.  I already am unsure about how I am handling things emotionally, but to do that is just one step too far.

I will say this, 10/9 is my absolute last day.  I don’t feel I owe anything to Company past that point.  I am also telling potential employers my 1st available day will be 10/11, and that’s been a bit of a stretch as is.

Thanks!

She responded that she’d look into it…AND she sent me the info on the career connection people I can talk to about a transition – looked at the website/registered/they are confirming eligibility but it just seems that looking for a job these days is more about how you can out-do your competition vs. who is the best eligible employee for the position…I am NOT one who uses LinkedIn and this place is PUSHING it seriously!  Seriously they want you to list accomplishments on your resume and anyone who is anyone knows Admin’s very RARELY have any serious accomplishments outside of streamlining systems and processes we can list.  So I have ZERO because at every turn my company has fought anything I wanted to suggest, thus NO accomplishments.

I am thinking this transition will be more getting myself out of the Corporate world and into something I want to do vs. need.  If that makes sense, I really am getting sick of sitting at a desk all damn day and reporting to some boss and company who could frankly care less about me a person and an employee…so I’ll be doing some serious thinking over the coming weeks to try and figure out how I can make money, support my clan, and still do what I want.

Can we tell I am feeling really down on myself?!?!

Only uplift in my life right now is that my workouts are rocking! I’ve been able to increase the weight I lift all around and my Crochet stuff has improved vastly…seriously check out some of my recent work here: YarntoAfghanCreations.

Can I go home and hide now?

Comments
  1. I’m so sorry you’re going through this. Hang in there. I know you love books – why not see if the local library is hiring? I only suggest that because they’re great places to work normally and I’m a librarian.

    • ncreadergirl says:

      Thanks! Been watching the County listings, the last one they had the library required the degree in Library Science 😦 Total bummer there, I worked the library at Hood as a Student and LOVED it!

Leave a Reply

