Well here we are roughly a month out from my Hubby losing his job – the job search is still going – he spends the better part of his day searching for and applying to new jobs – he’s had two bites – both Pet Retailers – one has sent him for a Drug Screen and are doing a Background Check but we wait…and we wait…and wait some more…in the mean time we’re doing our very best to try and get by.  That’s a good way to put it – get by.

After my last post I did do some thinking, digging, investigating and decided to open an Etsy shop to try and sell some of my crochet – so here it is

YarntoAfghan Creations on Etsy – Click on the Image

Yarn to Afghan Creations (1)

I also have a Website where I blog about my work and share the latest and greatest projects, such as these

Black Pink White Baby Blanket Boy Flip Fops Completed with Buttons 1 Burgundy-Gold Scarf wtih Fringe Crochet Pattern Booties Completed 1 Green Yellow White Afghan Hat & Scarf Multi-Colored Chevron Scrapghan Redskins Baby Blanket with Hat Roses 2

So I do it all – blankets, hats, scarves, etc. I haven’t attempted any sweaters/clothes, but that’s next I’ll bet!

Anyhew – this venture hasn’t brought in much other than the $75.00 for the previous afghan and about $40.00 for the White Flip Flops for a friend.  The other two projects are just about finished, putting finishing touches on one as we speak and will be delivering those this weekend.

So now down to the Nitty Gritty

I have added us to my Company’s Health Insurance and that literally eats into 2/3 of my paycheck, rendering my last one less than $300 – how is someone supposed to live on that? Ugh – we’re still waiting for his Unemployment and our Food Stamps – both places have told us it’ll be another 3-Weeks before we receive either of those benefits, lovely right?  So until then we borrow from Peter to pay Paul – so I borrowed from the Vehicle tax payment to pay the water bill yesterday, $174 to prevent shut-off.   I will say this though – being on the company benefits + having enrolled in our living well program did give us a discount + it’ll reimburse me quarterly for my Monthly gym membership dues…so YAY there! I’ve filed for 1st & 2nd Quarter and am waiting for that payment.

If there was more Overtime to be had I’d take it – but alas there’s not – I am so slow at work right now I am literally going insane sitting here day in and day out.

On the upside though my daughter went back to school today – year round school – and her supply list was all of (4) Four items + 1 donation item for the classroom and we managed to find her a pair of sneakers at a Thrift store here in town for like $10.00, and since school just let out 6-Weeks ago she hasn’t grown so much we need to replace her entire school wardrobe, Thank Goddess for that!

So that’s where we are right now…

Comments
  1. You are in my thoughts and prayers. Congrats on the Etsy shop. Your things are beautiful!

  2. Howto$tuffYourPig says:

    Please wish him luck with his job search!

  3. Really cute stuff. Good luck to you!

Leave a Reply

