Time to Brainstorm…Money Coming In Needs To Increase…

Posted: June 17, 2014 in Budgets, Financial Organization
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

First I am going to say this:

Yes I am thankful to have a Job, for as long as Goddess deems this job appropriate for my life situation

Yes I am thankful to have a home, for however long Citi allows us to hold onto it (haven’t made any form of payment to them in about a month…)

Yes I am thankful for my health

Yes I am thankful my children are healthy

Yes I am thankful my for my husband’s  support every single day

Yes I am thankful for my family

Yes I am thankful for all of the support I have around me

What I am bothered by is that fact that we’re stuck in a royal rut!  Nothing I do seems to work – I am not sure where else to turn…I’ve emailed HR requesting both research into how I can get on full-time here with benefits and paid time off, along with a raise – no I am not asking for a retro raise, just going forward (though retro would be AWESOME! They do it for our field guys ALL the damn time)…yet here I am six weeks later and NOT A DAMN THING has come of it – I sent yet another follow-up yesterday:

“Good Morning XXX,

I hope this finds you well on this Monday morning.
I am curious where we stand at present…I haven’t heard anything from you of any concrete value since I sent my initial email almost 6-Weeks Ago…
Please let me know where we are.
Thanks!”
My motivation at work is TANKING quickly
My motivation to do my job well is TANKING quickly
It could be a number of things causing this and I can’t pinpoint one of them…
So here I am, requesting help – I need you my readers to give me some ideas – we need to increase our income, getting a 2nd job as I have said multiple times is NOT an option due to my hubby’s already unpredictable and weird work schedule, there’s no point in contradicting a 2nd job w/having to fork over extra for childcare.
Need to brainstorm some ideas to bring in extra money w/out doing any of those direct-sale product lines (aka Mary Kay, been there, done that; Avon, Amway, etc.)
Thanks Guys!
Comments
  1. Hmmm…that’s frustrating that you’re getting nowhere with HR. Have you tried looking for work elsewhere? What about selling gently used items on eBay or Craigslist? A garage sale – I know that’s just a stopgap measure.

    • ncreadergirl says:

      It is frustrating, ugh, and probably part of where my motivation has gone…

      I have been applying for new jobs; however, there’s very little directly in my town; the only other ones in my field are an hour+ from home, which for the pay wouldn’t be worth the extra gas expense – that and rushing back here to pick the kids up would be too much stress…been there, done that with the long commutes.

      And we can do yard sales from time to time, however, I don’t keep much around the house…we tend to purge bi-annually and get rid of and donate unused items

  2. I hate to even say this but maybe it’s time to look into bankruptcy. There are many different types. My girlfriend just did one for credit card debt. Because if you haven’t been able to find another job, hubby got a promotion but it doesn’t sound like he’s started it yet. You’ve mentioned that neither of you can do a part-time job and it sounds like HR is giving you the runaround about full-time work. I’m out of ideas. I’m so sorry.

  3. Elizabeth says:

    I bring in extra money doing odd jobs that I can fit in around my schedule. My most consistent gig is animal care. Often people like their animals to stay at home where they are comfortable. Also, kennels are charging a large price. I undercut that price, and it takes me about 20 minutes in the morning, and another 20 in the evening. I take the kids along when needed. It’s not a lot but it nets me $1200-1500 a year.

    • ncreadergirl says:

      I’ve registered for some Freelance work I can do @ home while Jimmy is looking for a 2nd job…not an easy decision, but while it would seem obvious to do this, we’ve skirted around it for quite sometime

Leave a Reply

