Loss of Motivation + Loss of Income + Lack of Respect = Time to Find a New Job

Posted: May 1, 2014 in Budgets, Car Shopping, Finance Companies, Financial Organization
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Over the last almost four years I’ve held the same job…day in and day out the same thing…my daily breakdown looks a bit like this:

  • Come into work
  • Boot up Computer
  • While computer ‘wakes up’ – make breakfast
  • Return to desk with breakfast, log into work systems, peruse through emails that arrived over night, flag items requiring my attention for follow-up
  • Eat Breakfast – while eating check personal email, check in with MyFitnessPal and Facebook
  • Open up report I manage – filter for Submitted Items
  • Open up System email box, using emails check against report for anything that’s been approved – marking the Submitted to Approved when checked
  • Remaining Submitted Items are then checked against client system for PM Approval
  • Go through daily tasks completing steps for unfinished items from previous day
  • Go through daily calendar reminders for unfinished items for previous day
  • Noon = Lunch
  • Mon-Tues I key in items from Report to Client system
  • Wed I check for Approved Items off of Another Report, I then check for status in our system, and then I compare this report against our system for items not completed the previous week that would now be completed; if items have not been completed yet I send emails to the field team requesting completion, if one has been done for a personal item I ask the employee for payment status; if it’s on an expense report and not completed I flag it for follow-up the following week.
  • Thurs I run a submitted-unpaid report – what this is is a report that shows all timecards/expenses added to our system but not completed by the field team; if items from the previous week still are not completed I’ll send an email to the employee requesting status of completion.
  • Friday is completion of anything not done Mon – Thurs

Every day – Every week is the same.

Throw in there sometimes I answer the same friggin 10 questions over and over again

  • I send email requesting status of an expense report/timecard that is showing in our system as pending – employee comes back with “I sent it in, I don’t understand why it hasn’t been approved” or “I sent it in and it was approved by my Service Manager” – when I tell them I was looking at the item at the SAME time I was composing the message they have no response
  • Or the employee’s expense report is missing something and our payroll team short pays the expense report creating an addendum; I’ll send the employee an email requesting they follow the steps (CLEARLY OUTLINED IN AN INSTRUCTION KIT ALSO SENT OVER AT THE SAME TIME) to reopen the expense report and send it back in – the employee will come back to me with “I resent the missing receipts in, I don’t understand why this addendum was generated” I’ll ask them if they FIRST followed my instructions and I’ll get one of two answers “No” meaning he’s admitting he failed to read my email; or “What instructions?” meaning he’s admitting he perused my email but failed to open the attachment
  • Or they won’t allow the CC Transactions to filter to our system and expense them preemptively – thus creating MORE work because they were impatient…when asked about this they act like confused monkey’s – it’s frustrating…

I could go on, but I won’t…in the meantime of dealing with all of the above stupidity I STILL do not receive paid time off and benefits – and over the last almost four years that has equated to 289.25 hours or $4,338.75 of loss pay! (pre-tax pay)…I swear to GAWD this money could have meant so much to us and kept us in line financially…

All of the above + a total lack of respect by my manager I have loss all desire to be here…

So where does that leave me?

Time to find a new job…

Which in my market is damn near impossible for someone of my experience level – God forbid I demand to make more than minimum wage for work that some employer’s see as necessary but don’t see fit to pay well…I don’t know how companies get by without their administrative staff, I really don’t.  But I digress.  So therefore, trying to find a job right now is proving difficult, but I am looking and there’s several criteria that needs to be met:

  • Minimum $16 – $20.00/hr pay
  • Next level management/supervisory level job
  • Benefits/Paid Time Off

Something I would like is Flexibility – having two children with ADHD and one with Oppositional Defiance means my need to be out of the office for Dr’s and therapy appointment’s is higher than normal…and I need to be able to go without justifying them.  So I’m not applying for every job I remotely qualify for…it’s only been a handful thus far, but it’s time for more income.

Ok rant over!  Back to our regularly scheduled programming.

Comments
  1. Hang in there…have you been on any interviews?

    • ncreadergirl says:

      No not yet – no responses to the few resume’s I’ve sent out quite yet – like I said it’s a dog eat dog battle for jobs out there and I’m only willing to travel but so far to work each day, no more than about 1/2 hour.

  2. What’s the reason your boss gives you for not giving you benefits and/or a raise?

    • ncreadergirl says:

      In a nut shell the answer I always get is “We’re not sure what we’re going to do with you” and when I did ask for a raise I got a “nope, not gonna happen, not now, not ever” with no real explanation – I have my theories, one being she wants to keep her overhead CV number at such a point she ensures her own raise and bonus every year (as was indicated last year when she bought a brand new macked out Mercedes Benz) the other is that she just doesn’t want to admit she’s got the numbers built into the overhead administrative costs and she’s hoarding them…no real answer is ever given, just BS answers.

Leave a Reply

