And…Just When We THOUGHT The Wreck Was Finally Resolved…

Posted: April 30, 2014 in Budgets, Car Shopping, Financial Organization
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Nope yeah not so much.  Last week I received an email from Hertz with a bill for our rental car to the tune of $1,347.18.  I uploaded it to State Farm’s claims website and waited.  Nothing.  Until I woke up Saturday morning and saw a HUGE negative balance on my account – thank Goddess for my daily balance email notifications – so I bounced over to the bank’s website and low and behold I see that Hertz had not only drafted that $1,347.18 but the transaction had caused (2) Overdraft fees in its wake.

Ugh so BEFORE I’ve even had my morning coffee I call the bank immediately and file a dispute.  They immediately post a teller credit for the $1,347.18 and open a dispute for a credit from the overdraft fees.  So now we’re back at our positive balance we had when I went to bed Friday night.

And then as soon as my agents office opens on Monday I am on the phone with them trying to figure out what happened…they transfer me to the claims people who are handling the rental and I get transferred again to the total loss team who connect with me to Hertz.  Turns out the contract I initiated at the Airport the day after my wreck, that was supposed to be CANCELLED and VOIDED, never was and during an audit they found it and billed my account.  Hertz took responsibility for it and credited the funds back to us.   I just had to send them a copy of my statement showing the overdraft fees, which I did.

Came into work this morning and I see that BOTH credits are still on my account…so now what? Call the bank back and tell them what happened?  Or do I hold onto both credit + the credit of the overdraft fees and call it a day.  Keeping the 2nd credit for all the headache’s I’ve gotten trying to deal with the wreck itself, the insurance, and buying a new car.  Sort of reimbursement for having to replace a vehicle I had NO INTENTION of replacing this year…

Questions…

Questions…

Questions…

What would you all do?

UPDATE: Called the bank & Cancelled the Dispute, They are Going to Debit the Credit they Gave me showing just the one Debit/Credit from Hertz.

Comments
  1. What a nightmare for you – more stress you definitely don’t need

Leave a Reply

