Saturday, Feb 22, 2014 – A Car Wreck Seems to be my Lot in Life…

Posted: February 23, 2014 in Budgets
Tags: , , , , , ,

Seems dealing with the struggles of my financial life are a constant with us – once we’re settled into a routine, and going about life in our day-to-day manner we are thrown for a literal loop and end up having to deal with something MAJOR – and it seems to happen on the even years, 2011 saw a wreck with this same car at the parking lot of the dealership (minor), 2012 our car was STOLEN, 2013 all was quiet with the exception of some repairs to the car (again minor), and now 2014 this – so not happy here…

Posted this last night to Facebook:

“No gym tonight, got in a pretty bad wreck on my way to pick up my hubby from work – some college kid decided not to give me right of way in an intersection and hit me driver’s side – car is NOT drivable at all, probably will be totaled because its 14yrs old w/149K miles on it…almost paid off, will be in July…”

And then this morning:

“Woke up this morning with some neck & head pain, took two Tylenol, drinking some coffee and hoping it’s just something small associated w/the accident; filed my claim w/State Farm last night, hoping to round-up a rental car tomorrow – in the mean time I need to do some grocery shopping – who wants to take us laters??? Seriously though, Thank-You everyone for your warm words of concern and “are you ok?” in the big scheme of things we’re all ok, no permanent/hospital worthy damage was done; the car is probably a total loss, we’ll find out more once State Farm moves it and inspects it…not how I had planned on spending my refund money, but alas what must be done will be done…”

I will take some pictures of the damage once we go to retrieve our personal items from the car later today – thankfully for me the police determined it was her fault, so her insurance is going to be liable for the wreck and should cover the total loss cost of the car (i.e. paying off the loan, which will be paid in full in July anyways), and everything else entailed with the wreck – but MAN alive it’s going to be a very long process…wish us the best of luck here…

Editing to Add Pictures of the Wreckage:

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Comments
  1. I am so sorry. I’ve had my share of wrecks over the years. Make sure you’re ok. I went to a chiropractor after my wrecks to make sure. So sorry this happened to you, but maybe in the scheme of things it will be good so you can get a newer car? There is a silver lining somewhere.

  2. I hope you’re ok. I always went to the chiropractor afterwards for any needed adjustments or X-rays. Maybe the silver lining in all of this will be a newer car.

    • ncreadergirl says:

      Maybe it’ll be a new car – but it’s more than likely! I don’t trust chiropractor’s – the Dr told me I had a mild case of whiplash, gave me a muscle relaxer and pain meds should I need them, suggested Aleve in its place and to use it first.

Leave a Reply

