Week Ending 09.29.13 Budget…Where Has Summer Gone? Fall’s In Full Swing Now

Posted: October 7, 2013 in Budgets, Car Shopping, Finance Companies, Financial Organization
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I love Fall, I absolutely love this time of year, the crispness in the air, the beginnings of wearing sweaters, longer sleeves, jeans, boots, and the changing feel of the air.  Of course right along with that comes the busiest time of year for our finances, meaning we will be spending a little more than usual between now and New Year’s Eve, what with

– Halloween (Costumes x 2, Pumpkins x 2, and a Carving Kit x 1) – thankfully I have enough in my savings jar to cover the cost of these! So yeah!!

– Thanksgiving Dinner – we are playing host this year to two (2) Marines from one of the surrounding bases, so my cost for dinner will escalate slightly from previous years, though the last two years my company has provided us with a $25 Wal-Mart Gift Card to help Offset the cost of Thanksgiving Dinner – crossing my fingers they do this again!  We’ll need it!

– My Daughter’s B-Day – the poor child’s birthday is Christmas Eve – I am making her an afghan for her bed and I already have the pattern in my head for this one!

– Christmas (Stockings filled x 4, Presents for the kiddos, usually 1-2 gifts each, a gift for each parent x 4, GC’s or small gifts for my siblings x 2 +1 my brother in law, and one small something for my Uncle);  I am already more than 1/2 way completed in making my mother’s Christmas present, and will probably do something crocheted for someone else in the fam.

– And then Portrait prints of my kids for everyone – not to toot my own horn here, but I have some talent as a photographer and I am able to save $$ on the actual taking the pictures process by doing it myself, see:

Ashley 2013 Portrait Austin 2013 Portrait

 

So it’s just the prints and postage I have to pay for!

Alright with that said, our budget this week is pretty straight forward, our misc. spending was minimal at best and I have been consistently picking up some small amounts of overtime due to our Fall Outage Season, so yeah there! It’s not much, but hey it’s something!

So here we go:

 $24.71 Remaining from W/E 09/08/13  $514.09 Lara W/E 09/29/13 Salary, Pay Date 10/04
 $21.93 Amt. Spent  $251.99 Jimmy W/E 09/29/13 Salary
 $2.78 Avail. Starting  $766.08
 $7.27 PetsMart  $2.78 Avail. Starting
 $1.00 PetsMart  $766.08 Total Pay
 $6.80 PetsMart  $768.86 Avail. For Bills
 $2.21 KTC  $125.00 In From Savings for Mortgage
 $4.65 Amazon.com  $893.86
 $21.93

 

Yes $21.93 is a bit more than minimal as compared to previous weeks, but honestly not that terrible, we managed to stay right within our budget, while it would have been helpful to have that money roll into this week, we needed to feed Smaug, our Bearded Dragon, unfortunately buying Crickets in bulk just doesn’t work, they tend to die before one can feed them to him….he’s still a baby after all and doesn’t each much 😉  So that left very little in the account to start the week, but we were ok – I pulled the $125.00 back into checking from our savings account to pay the mortgage, and the below $400.00 I sent to them finished off our Sept. payment and paid part of October, so we’re right online with that….just still stressing about the car payment…UGH!

 $893.86
 $400.00 CitiMortgage
 $493.86
 $70.00 Brigades Boys & Girls Club
 $423.86
 $200.00 Groceries
 $223.86
 $25.00 Jimmy’s Money
 $198.86
 $25.00 Cat & Dog Food
 $173.86
 $25.00 Dinner, 10/4
 $148.86
 $40.00 Gas
 $108.86
 $60.00 Car Repairs
 $48.86  $48.86
7%  $3.42
 $3.42  $45.44

 

So see we’re still ok – I paid Scott via a check the other day for our car repairs and that brings us even with him, and now I need to budget the cost of the inspection, $32.00 and registration, $28.00 ($60.00) total so that my car will be legal for another year at least…still hoping I can replace it with something reliable and for less per month – this means allocating a larger portion of our tax return to a down payment…oh well, it’ll be worth it if I can bring my monthly car payment down some!

 $893.86
 $400.00 Citi
 $493.86
 $5.00 OT Solutions
 $488.86
 $320.00 Cash for Week
 $168.86
 $60.00 Car Repairs
 $108.86
 $70.00  Brigades Boys & Girls Club
 $38.86
 $3.42  Merrill Transfer
 $35.44

 

I am not 110% comfortable quite yet with the budget, but I can breathe a sigh of relief that the mortgage is somewhat current!

Alrighty ya’ll, that is all for this week! Enjoy your Week – and until Next Time!

Comments
  1. Kat says:

    Those are photos are awesome. It’s great that you can save money by doing it yourself, and not lose any quality. And I agree with you about car payments. They suck and they’re stressful.

    • ncreadergirl says:

      Thanks! It took some bribery to get them to cooperate, but in the end Wonderful Happened! I think most of the world that owns a car and finances it hates dealing with the headache of a) having said payment, and b) dealing with the overbearing, privacy/life invading finance company!

  2. Great pictures and adorable kids. I didn’t realize you’d gotten another car.

    • ncreadergirl says:

      Thanks! We didn’t get another car, it’s just time to renew the inspection/registration for another year on our Focus. Yes we just did it a few months ago, but we were that late on 2012’s inspection/registration that we were only given a couple months until it expired…so we have to do it all again.

Leave a Reply

