Week Ending 06.02.13 Budget, Not as Amusing as I’d have Liked…

Posted: June 7, 2013 in Budgets
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Seriously not digging this week’s finances, sure we had a nice surprise of a $6 refund come back from LCA (LabCorp) due to over payment of account, think I would have preferred to have a statement coming my way to prevent said over payment.  At the beginning of the week last week when I did the checkbook we were left with the whole of $18 in the account (this was after paying the bills and deducting the debit transactions we’d made) leaving me less than comfortable, so I pulled back into our checking account some of the transfers from the Keep the Change (KTC) program, these are auto deducted and transferred to our savings account, in the sum of $10.00 – bringing our remaining up to $28 for the week.  I am stickler for wanting to keep as much as I can, all the while paying bills, in our checking account for those unaccounted/unbudgeted items we may need throughout the week – in this case it was some pre-cooked ribs/corn on the cob from Harris Teeter for dinner on Sat night (my hubby reminded me I had mentioned wanting to have ribs for dinner this past weekend), and then a run to Target mid-week for more grocery items we were running low on – the movie rental for hubs and I on Sunday night and a snack at Dunkin Donuts last night before Lego Club, so to say we went over budget is an understatement.  See here:

 $34.73 Remaining from W/E 05/12/13  $465.60 Lara W/E 06/02/13 Salary
 $37.55 Amt. Spent  $287.26 Jimmy W/E 06/02/13 Salary
 $(2.82) Avail. Starting  $752.86
 $9.75 Harris Teeter  $(2.82) Avail. Starting
 $6.19 McDonald’s  $752.86 Total Pay
 $4.99 Amazon.com  $750.04 Avail. For Bills
 $2.55 KTC  $16.00 Overpayment Credit from LCA ($6.00)/TXFR From KTC Acct ($10)
 $7.43 Target  $766.04
 $6.64 Dunkin Donuts  $0.20 Bank Adj.
 $37.55  $766.24

So then to add insult to injury my paycheck today was less than even a normal 40.0 hr work-week due to last Monday the 27th being Memorial Day – I did not work a full day – I put in a whole two hours when a migraine set-in and I had to walk away from my computer…so my full week’s hours totaled 37.25.  Normally I would have been able to make them all up and get my 40.0 hrs.  However, the workload has lightened considerably and I no longer have need for Overtime/Working at night – this cut into my ability to make-up my hours to get a full week…UGH!

Then here we are, it’s Friday again and while things are looking slightly better I am pleased to say that because of the deposits I put down for the kids’ summer camp at Brigades, $40/ea, next weeks tuition is covered! So WooHoo! I am able to re-route those funds to our utilities and make payments to them! And, it’s a light week on the auto-draft bills so we’re left with almost $200 to roll-over into next week for paying bills – Oh Yeah!

So without further adieu, here you go:

 $766.24
 $25.00 DB Plumbing
 $741.24
 $   – Brigades Boys & Girls Club
 $741.24
 $5.00 OT Solutions
 $736.24
 $5.00 CCA, 6/10 Auto-Draft
 $731.24
 $5.00 Tate & Kirlin, 6/10 Auto-Draft
 $726.24
 $170.00 Groceries
 $556.24
 $40.00 Gas
 $516.24
 $25.00 Jimmy’s Money
 $491.24
 $25.00 Dinner, 6/7
 $466.24
 $25.00 Cat & Dog Food
 $441.24
 $120.00 CFPUA
 $321.24
 $90.00 Progress Energy
 $231.24
 $30.00 Letters to Publishers Printing/Postage
 $201.24

The Letters I am referring to harken over to my other blog, My Journey to My New Life, I am trying to ball up the courage enough to actually send some letters I’ve written to introduce myself to a handful of Publishing Scouts/Agents/Publishing Houses to get a feel for the industry and what I’ll need to do in order to make the transition over to publishing – figured if I budgeted for the Printing/Postage of said letters I might actually follow through.  See this post about the same thing – I am such a Spaz about this sort of thing.

Ok so now with the cash withdrawal:

 $766.24
 $25.00 DB Plumbing
 $741.24
 $    – Brigades Boys & Girls Club
 $741.24
 $5.00 OT Solutions
 $736.24
 $5.00 CCA, 6/10 Auto-Draft
 $731.24
 $5.00 Tate & Kirlin, 6/10 Auto-Draft
 $726.24
 $320.00 Cash for Week
 $406.24
 $120.00 CFPUA
 $286.24
 $90.00 Progress Energy
 $196.24 Rem. For Bills W/E 06/09/13

We are also in the process of re-examining our weekly grocery budget to see if we need to make adjustments to how much we’re withdrawing each week for groceries – this will include at minimum 6-Weeks’ worth of grocery expenditures in order to get a full picture of how much we’ve spent over that time period, once we do that the $170/week I withdraw might be altered…hopefully not too much, YIKES!

Well that is all – this weekend is looking to be a rainy one, so more time indoors will be spent…anyone with any fun weekend plans?

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    Thanks so much for commenting over at our blog!
    I think it’s really cool how you budget for every week; it seems like you would have a much easier time keeping up with expenses. Sometimes I just have to guesstimate what we spent because I’m absolutely terrible at keeping receipts.
    As for fun weekend plans, we went to a bunch of yard sales and actually got some sweet deals like a dresser for $20! The rest of the weekend was spent painting that dresser, but it’s taking forever to dry because of the rain and humidity!
    Have a great week!

    • ncreadergirl says:

      Your Welcome! I loved how you commiserated on your financial life and the realness of it!
      I don’t keep receipts so to speak, I check our bank account online nearly daily in order to stay on top of things – my hubby is notorious for spending money without telling me – checking the bank daily lets me keep track of that! As for the weekly budgeting, I truly have to, if I don’t we get behind in one area and over spend in another and then we’re totally upside down. We’re also paid weekly, so that sort of forces the issue.
      Sounds like a fun Weekend! Ours was very boring, running all over town trying to track down a certain color yarn for a project I’m working on…alas a substitution had to be made.

Leave a Reply

